top of page

Welcome Everybody!!

  Hello dear followers. You are very welcomed to my sincere page. My name is Sude. As the owner of this page, hopefully, I will be here, sharing valuable posts for you and everybody who are interested. 

for the first post.jpeg
  • Writer's picturesude filiz

A TIME SAVING, FRUITFUL EDUCATION-FLIPPED CLASSROOM APPROACH

Updated: Dec 31, 2023

Hello dear followers!





Welcome to my vivacious page! I hope you are all okay. I am pretty fine. Today we have a fun and innovative topic. We will talk about flipped classroom approach, and I will introduce you the example me and my teammate Sena Haylamaz produced.


So let's start describing what a flipped classroom is. A flipped classroom is an approach that enables students to gain prior knowledge about the content of the coming lesson by watching a video about the content of the class, either prepared or chosen by their own teacher. Students basically learn the knowledge before the class, and class hours are used to practice.



For sure, it has advantages and disadvantages. To start with the latter one, the first thing that comes to mind is asking questions. As a student, I can't understand the rest of the class if I don't have a chance to ask my teacher questions about the part that I'm confused with immediately. Another topic is the fact that the teachers can never be sure if the students really watched the video. If they don't, the teacher can't have a chance to involve the students in practice since the teacher couldn't intervene in the learning process.


On the other hand, the benefits are abundant. It is quite time-saving. It allows plenty of classroom practice, which enriches the learning. Also, it helps students learn when they are ready and prepared. Moreover, it helps students actively take part in the class rather than just sitting and listening.


Similarly, in our task, we were supposed to prepare a flipped video teaching vocabulary items to 5th graders, considering the proficiency level of the students and the principles we discussed.


While preparing our video, the main problem we came across was the fact that we didn't know how to modify our use of language for young learners. We got over this problem by talking to our teacher and watching the videos she suggested. Another problem occured because of the tool we used. We couldn't use Canva to produce a video. So, we prepared slides and added our voice recordings on the slides. Me and my teammate shared the duties equally by preparing everything together. We used Canva as our main tool to create our slides and voice recordings. And lastly, we used Wordwall to prepare our practice game.




That is all for now, my dear followers. I hope I could reflect on what this approach is and how it is used properly. That is all I can say for today. Thanks for reading me. Take care of yourselves!





Recent Posts

See All

Digital diary of a vivacious person!

©2022 by Digital diary of a vivacious person!. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page